Reflections

Posted on Updated on

class_youthServices_img1

I have been doing a great deal of reflecting yesterday.  I was listening to a radio station that plays gospel rock and on occasion there will be programs that read scripture or offer a mini-sermon.  I used to avoid this station because I felt they were too one sided but then I reminded myself that I’m in no place to judge, especially when they believe as I do.

God exists.  Jesus Christ exists.  The holy spirit also exists.  Why diss people who may or may not follow the same pattern of beliefs as I do?  Doing so would be wrong, so I opted to abandon the music station I normally listen to for one that sends a more positive energy rather than a negative one.  Since doing this I’ve felt so much better and far less hostile.

Those who’ve followed my posts in Facebook realize how outspoken I have become whenever it comes to Stephen Harper, Barack Obama, Monsanto and basically anything and everything that either gets under my skin or it’s about something I believe in.  As much as I do not like what they’re doing and will voice out each time I come across something I feel other people should be made aware of, I can only do so much.  It’s up to everyone to make decisions for themselves and I won’t change their minds by constantly throwing truths in their faces.  They have to figure it out for themselves and in their own way.  That is how I did it and why I am now on the path that I am.

I don’t want to be a fighter.  I’d rather heal and be there for people when they need it.  I’d rather help people laugh and forget about their troubles instead of focusing on them.  If I can help them focus on solutions that will improve their lives, I will be more than glad to do so, hoping my insight is good enough for such an honor.  However, I am not God and I am not Jesus Christ.  Only they know all the answers and how to stay 100% true on target.  All I can do is try.  That is all anyone can do.

When I was driving home last night from work and then grocery shopping I was listening to a piece called Communication Peace.  I found it’s timing to be remarkable because I often asked God if my voicing out as much as I do was okay.  Am I on the right track?  Am I doing the right thing?  As I was listening I made a point to listen to my gut and hopefully the mind would be smart enough to figure it out.  What I got out of it was learning that although it is indeed important to speak up and not hold back, it is equallly important that I remind myself that not everybody will move the same pace I do, nor dare to be as outspoken as I am.  I had also been reminded that sometimes silence can prove to be a greater weapon than a megaphone.

Bearing this in mind, I’ve chosen to alter how I speak up and how I take action.  Instead of directly targetting all the negatives I feel is killing this world and our humanity alongside it, I opt to focus on what I can do to push the positives forward.  This is the only way the negatives will get shoved out of the picture.  Dwelling on them and banging people over the head about them isn’t going to help, even if the reminders seem necessary to shake people awake.  For me, if I can do more good by doing positives then this is the route I’d much prefer to go.

God is my creator.  Jesus is my savior.  The holy spirit is what I need in order to keep driving forward in a constructive manner.  I need this in order to maintain my faith and to stay strong.

402727_269036569832266_266307820105141_576688_291053558_n

Leave a Reply

